NEW

VOLKSWAGEN

MOBILITY FOR

THE DIGITAL

SOCIETY

Our attitudes about mobility will fundamentally change in the coming years as technology and climate change call for new solutions and habits. As the lead agency for brand design, we are working with Volkswagen, together with a team of design and communication agencies, to shape their mobility brand for the digital society.

Zero CO₂ by 2050
In 2018, the transportation sector generated around 14 percent of the world’s CO₂ emissions. Volkswagen aims to be carbon-neutral by 2050. (Source: Volkswagen)

01-kms-team-vw-infografik-en.svg

»We have to become more of a software company

Herbert Diess, CEO Volkswagen

»If we can’t change anything,

who can?«

Mobility markets are undergoing rapid, dramatic changes – and also represent emotional products that have inspired people for over 100 years. Volkswagen is taking the lead by shaping people’s habits, attitudes and preferences in regards to mobility.

Volkswagen is accepting its responsibility by committing to the goals of the Paris Agreement. The brand is also addressing the evolving technologies in mobility and the changing expectations of new global societies. This paradigm shift is responsible for the most extensive transformation in the company’s history.

»We have to become

more of a software company«

This quote was from Volkswagen CEO Herbert Diess in a press talk with Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella. The context: Volkswagen is turning the car into an electric, fully networked carbon-free smart device.

02_kms-team_vw_diess-nadella-posterimg.jpg
04_kms-team_vw_id-buzz.jpg
03_kms-team_vw_mobile-app.png

It terms of brand management, this means developing the strengths and formative characteristics of the brand further. We are creating new patterns of interaction that can best address the expectations of both current and future customers.

Transformation requires an

icon of trust

»With KMS TEAM, we have found a partner who is bringing ideas about design and brand communication into the future

Jochen Sengpiehl, CMO Volkswagen

How is the Volkswagen

brand changing?

Jochen Sengpiehl, CMO Volkswagen: »At Volkswagen, our brand is the value driver and trailblazer for change. The goal is to create a new value – with a new mindset in a connected world. With KMS TEAM, we have found a partner who is bringing ideas about design and brand communication into the future.«

Volkswagen has been our client for many years and, today, we are exploring the following question: How does brand and design management need to change if the brand is transforming from an automaker to an integrated mobility provider for the digital society

Patrick Märki, Managing Partner KMS TEAM: »The future of mobility requires a new way of thinking. Our goal is to empower the brand to tap into new business fields quickly and convincingly as well as develop existing ones – without losing its clarity. In this way, the Volkswagen brand is ideally positioned for the dynamic mobility markets.«

»The future of mobility requires a new way of thinking

Patrick Märki, Managing Partner KMS TEAM

Brand Design

360°

10_kms-team_vw_cd-posterimg.jpg

Global Creative Lead

As the new lead agency, we have assumed responsibility for the development and implementation of the new brand design in the Volkswagen Power House.

The result of our work is a sustainable system that we can employ dynamically and intuitively across all applications and channels. It is ideally suited for the new patterns of interaction in our digital society.

We are supporting the global rollout on the basis of the new Volkswagen BrandNet, which documents all of the principles and elements of the brand design. We are organizing coaching and training sessions from New York to Shanghai – helping to transform the momentum into a worldwide movement.

15_kms-team_vw_team-large.jpg

Powerhouse – new work

for New Volkswagen

The New Volkswagen brand management is using new agile, networked working processes in the »Power House«. The aim is to end the classic client-agency model, be faster, and make more consistent decisions. Thanks to this approach, we developed, discussed, documented and implemented the New Volkswagen brand design in a very short period of time – together with several clever people from Blackspace, Consileon, DDB, Grabarz und Partner, Metadesign, Mutabor, Progenium, Publicis Sapient, S12, Schmidhuber, SinnerSchrader, VIM Group and Volkswagen Design.

What impresses us

  • How fast one of the largest companies can be

  • The team in the Power House

  • Rethinking design systems and customer interactions

  • Having contact with motivated Volkswagen teams around the world

NEW

VOLKSWAGEN

MOBILITÄT FÜR

DIE DIGITALE

GESELLSCHAFT

Unsere Einstellung zu Mobilität wird sich grundlegend ändern. Technologie- und Klimawandel erfordern neue Lösungen und neue Verhaltensweisen. Als Brand-Design-Leadagentur arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit Volkswagen einem Team aus Design- und Kommunikationsagenturen an der Mobilitätsmarke für die digitale Gesellschaft.

Zero CO₂ bis 2050
2018 wurden rund 14 Prozent der weltweiten CO₂-Emissionen durch den Transportsektor verursacht. Ein Prozent des Ausstoßes entfällt auf Pkw der Volkswagen Group. Ziel von Volkswagen ist die CO₂-Neutralität bis 2050. (Quelle: Volkswagen)

01_kms-team_vw_infografik.svg

»We have to become
more of a software
company

Herbert Diess, CEO Volkswagen

»Wer kann etwas verändern,

wenn nicht wir?«

Die Mobilitätsmärkte sind nicht nur schnellen und starken Wandlungen unterworfen, sondern stehen auch für emotionale Produkte, die seit über 100 Jahren die Gesellschaft begeistern. Volkswagen übernimmt dabei eine Führungsrolle und gestaltet seit Jahrzehnten die Verhaltensmuster, Einstellungen und Präferenzen der Mobilität.

Mit der Verpflichtung zu den Zielen des Pariser Klimaabkommens stellt sich Volkswagen seiner Verantwortung. Darüber hinaus geht die Marke auf die technologischen Veränderungen der Mobilität und die veränderten Erwartungshaltungen neuer globaler Gesellschaften ein. Das ist ein Paradigmenwechsel, der die umfassendste Veränderung der Unternehmensgeschichte zur Folge hat.

»We have to become

more of a software company«

So Herbert Diess, CEO Volkswagen, in einem Pressegespräch mit Satya Nadella, CEO von Microsoft. Denn Volkswagen macht das Auto zum elektrischen, voll-vernetzten, CO2-freien Smart-Device.

02_kms-team_vw_diess-nadella-posterimg.jpg
04_kms-team_vw_id-buzz.jpg
03_kms-team_vw_mobile-app.png

Für die Markenführung bedeutet das, die Stärken und prägende Charakteristika der Marke zukunftsfähig weiterzuentwickeln. Es werden neue Interaktionsmuster geschaffen, die auf die Erwartungen heutiger und zukünftiger Kunden bestmöglich eingehen können.

Transformation requires an

icon of trust

»Mit KMS TEAM haben wir einen Partner, der mit uns Design und Marken­kommunikation nach vorne denkt

Jochen Sengpiehl, CMO Volkswagen

Wie verändert sich

die Marke Volkswagen?

Jochen Sengpiehl, CMO Volkswagen: »Für Volkswagen ist Marke ein Werttreiber und Wegbereiter für Veränderung. Es geht darum, mit einer neuen Haltung in einer vernetzen Welt einen neuen Wert zu schaffen. Mit KMS TEAM haben wir einen Partner, der Design und Markenkommunikation im digitalen Zeitalter nach vorne denkt.«

Für unseren langjährigen Auftraggeber Volkswagen arbeiten wir an der Frage: Wie muss sich das Marken- und Designmanagement verändern, wenn sich die Marke vom Automobilhersteller zum integrierten Mobilitätsanbieter für die digitale Gesellschaft wandelt?

Patrick Märki, Managing Partner KMS TEAM: »Die Zukunft der Mobilität erfordert ein Umdenken. Unser Ziel ist es, die Marke zu befähigen, schnell und glaubwürdig neue Geschäftsfelder zu erschließen und bestehende zu entwickeln. Ohne dabei ihre Klarheit zu verlieren. So ist die Marke Volkswagen optimal für die sich dynamisch entwickelnden Mobilitätsmärkte positioniert.«

»Die Zukunft der Mobilität erfordert ein Umdenken

Patrick Märki, Managing Partner KMS TEAM

Brand Design

360°

10_kms-team_vw_cd-posterimg.jpg

Global Creative Lead

Als neue Leadagentur haben wir im Volkswagen Powerhouse die Verantwortung für die Weiterentwicklung und die Umsetzung des neuen Brand Designs.

Das Ergebnis unserer Arbeit ist ein zukunftsfähiges System, das dynamisch und intuitiv anwendbar ist – über alle Applikationen und Kanäle hinweg. Es ist passgenau für die neuen Interaktionsmuster einer digitalen Gesellschaft.

Auf Basis eines neuen Volkswagen BrandNet, das sämtliche Prinzipien und Elemente des Brand Designs dokumentiert, begleiten wir den globalen Roll-out mit Coachings und Trainings von New York bis Shanghai und helfen, aus dem Momentum eine weltweite Bewegung zu machen.

15_kms-team_vw_team-large.jpg

Powerhouse – Neues

Arbeiten für New Volkswagen

Die Markenführung von New Volkswagen arbeitet mit neuen agilen und vernetzten Arbeitsprozessen im »Powerhouse«. Wunsch ist es, einen Schlussstrich unter die klassische Kunden-Agentur-Denke zu ziehen, schneller zu sein und konsistentere Entscheidungen herbeizuführen. So wurde in kurzer Zeit das Volkswagen New Brand Design entwickelt, diskutiert, dokumentiert und umgesetzt – gemeinsam mit vielen klugen Köpfen von Blackspace, Consileon, DDB, Grabarz und Partner, Metadesign, Mutabor, Progenium, Publicis Sapient, S12, Schmidhuber, SinnerSchrader und Volkswagen Design.

Was uns begeistert

  • Wie schnell eines der größten Unternehmen sein kann

  • Das Team im Powerhouse

  • Designsysteme und Kundeninteraktion neu zu denken

  • Der Kontakt mit motivierten Teams bei Volkswagen auf der ganzen Welt